The Vote for Speaker of the House

The tempest in the teapot has subsided, and the members of the U.S. House of Representatives have elected a speaker for the upcoming term.

HOR_SpeakerVoteAt right is a breakdown of the vote.  Although there were a few more than usual kicking out of the traces, the heavy favorite, Representative John Boehner of Ohio, was handily re-elected to serve his third term.

The vote total came to only 408, so not all members cast a vote.  And yes, some idiot did cast a write-in vote for former Secretary of State Colin Powell.

With that out of the way, and with Senator Mitch McConnell the winner in the Senate election, Congress is now set to accomplish great things, right?